Cafe Reissue {Harajuku}

Address: 3-25-7 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo
Website: http://reissue.jp/
Open: 12pm – 11pm
Soy Milk: No

IMG_5558

Cafe Reissue is so small, you’re likely to miss it if you don’t know what you are looking for. The first time that I found it, it was a total accident. I was actually on my way to the nearby Streamer Coffee Company and happened to glance over to see a small sign with pictures of amazing latte art on it. I made a mental note to come back later to check it out, and I am really glad that I did.

Only a few minutes walk from the famous Takeshita Dori in Harajuku, and up a very small staircase with only a small sign, you will find Cafe Reissue. It has a very homey interior of mix-matched chairs, a few tables, and a lot of old books. The baristas there are very friendly, and willing to take your phone number and give you a call if there isn’t currently a seat available to come back when there is because there isn’t any spae to wait. And it is definitely worth the wait.

What makes Cafe Reissue so unique is undoubtedly the latte art. For an extra 400 yen, you can request anything that you want in your coffee, and either in 2D or 3D style (I’ve had one of each so far). How can they do anything, you ask? Well the menu has a very interesting infographic to explain it to you, but I’ll tell you here as well. All you have to do is pull up a picture on your mobile phone, and they will take a picture of your screen and then disappear to make the magic happen. You can even get real photos done this way of your pets or family! The man next to me my first trip got a picture done of his cat.

So if you’re really into latte art, and especially if you have more obscure interests (such as me and giant squid, I absolutely love them and my squid art will always be special to me!) this is a great place to check out. You can luckily get latte art on most of their hot drinks, including hot cocoa if you don’t like coffee. Cafe Reissue also has some food and cake as well if you’re hungry, but the main draw is definitely the art!

Pros: Best latte art ever, super unique experience every time, really nice staff
Cons: Very expensive if you want art (base coffee price is around 600 yen and the art is another 400 yen), limited seating, very busy during peak times

IMG_5439

Leave a Reply

